The Ambition of Playing the Yakuza Series: A Personal Journey

Zaki Qayoumi aka Zack
8 min readJun 24, 2024

Introduction

The Yakuza series, developed by SEGA, is an exceptional blend of action, adventure, and role-playing elements set against the backdrop of Japan’s criminal underworld. From the moment I picked up Yakuza 0, I was hooked. The series has been a source of immense joy and satisfaction, offering a rich narrative, complex characters, and engaging gameplay. This article explores my journey through Yakuza 0, Yakuza Kiwami 1, and Yakuza Kiwami 2, and my anticipation for the Yakuza Remastered Collection, Yakuza 6, and the Like A Dragon series. Furthermore, I draw parallels between the game’s themes and my personal experiences, particularly my name change from Zaki to Zack, and my relentless pursuit of success and fulfillment.

Discovering Yakuza 0: The Genesis of an Obsession

A Story of Two Dragons

Yakuza 0, the prequel to the entire series, introduces players to the origins of Kazuma Kiryu and Goro Majima. Set in the 1980s, the game captures the essence of Japan’s economic bubble era. The intricate plot, which revolves around real estate, power struggles, and loyalty, immediately captivated me. Kiryu and Majima’s journey from humble beginnings to becoming legends in the Yakuza world resonated deeply with me. Their struggles, ambitions, and unwavering determination mirrored my own life experiences.

Gameplay and Exploration

--

--